Skip to content

Sheila Pantry Associates Ltd


Focus Archive

RoSPA Health and Safety Awards 2021 launched

October 2020
Sheila Pantry OBE

The RoSPA Health and Safety Awards 2021 have been launched on 1 October 2020, with seven new sector categories that worldwide organisations can compete to win.

The categories have been added to reflect the broadening diversity of organisations entering the RoSPA Awards each year, with nearly 2,000 entrants from 42 countries having taken part in 2020.

The seven new categories are Cultural Industry (to include organisations such as libraries, museums and historical sites), Entertainment and Media (for organisations such as production companies and those in the performing arts), Information and Communication (for example computer programming, IT consultancy, telecommunications), Professional and Technical Activities (legal, accounting, management consultancies etc), Renewable Energy (wind, solar, hydroelectric etc), Security Activities (security firms) and Wholesale and Retail.

In addition to these new categories, the Forestry sector has now also been widened to include Agriculture, Forestry and Fishing.

In its 65th year, the RoSPA Awards – sponsored by NEBOSH – will also be hosting its first awards ceremony outside of the UK, having added Dubai to the list of locations of its celebratory gala dinners.

That event will take place in May 2021 (COVID-dependent) alongside the usual London, Birmingham and Glasgow ceremonies.

Julia Small, RoSPA’s executive head of awards and events, said: “We are so excited to be bringing the RoSPA Awards to Dubai in 2021, which is a reflection of our increasingly-international profile – our entrants represent more than 7 million employees from across the world – and an acknowledgement of the amazing work being done by companies in the Middle East to keep their employees safe and healthy.

“We’re also really pleased to widen the scope of our competitive industry sector categories, which will provide our entrants with enhanced opportunities to vie and benchmark themselves against other organisations.”

In addition to competing across the 31 sector categories, entrants are handed a non-competitive grading at Merit, Bronze, Silver or Gold level.

Awards are also presented to those who demonstrate their commitment to safety outside of the workplace through the Safe@Work-Safe@Home Award, sponsored by L’Oréal, and the contribution of individuals and teams is recognised through the RoSPA Inspiration Awards.

Entrants gain access to a growing, worldwide community of likeminded professionals through the Awards Excellence Forum, sponsored by HSE Recruitment – a place to share and learn from best practice, enabling the improvement of health and safety systems globally, through regular events and seminars. And those looking to gain the highest possible accolade can partner up with high-performing entrants as part of the mentorship programme.

The RoSPA Awards 2021 are open for registration from Thursday, 1 October 2020 – register before 1 November 2020 to take advantage of early-bird discounts, and there are further discounts for RoSPA members.

For more information on how to register and what the entry process involves, visit